You should pay close attention to Razer before buying your next Macbook

Yann Eves
2 min readMar 1, 2019

The (lack of) evolution in the Macbook product line has bitterly disappointed me, so I went out looking for comparable alternatives. It wasn’t the first time I’d found myself in this position and unsurprisingly the results weren’t all that different. There’s bizarrely limited direct competition to the Macbook.

My searches led me to the Lenovo Yoga and Asus Zenbook series, but if we’re being honest with ourselves, these still have that limited-lifespan-feel of a Windows laptop. I like to commit to a disaster-free 5 years of portable computing power.

The next idea was to progress to a tablet with wireless peripherals. I’d tried this before with the Asus Transformer TF700T, which xdadevelopers had convinced me could be flashed to the bones. It wasn’t pretty. I landed myself with an expensive paperweight. However, the Microsoft Surface series looks promising. But experience tells me a bag of peripherals rattling around does not a laptop make. Call me old fashioned.

Then I caught wind of the Razer Blade series — more specifically, the Razer Blade Stealth. My eyes widened.

Razer Blade Stealth unboxing by Unbox Therapy

I’m yet to see one of these in person. But it delivers on form factor, performance, reliability, modularity with the Razer Core, and it’s damn sexy. It would be unwise to sideline Razer as only producing gaming products.

Unless anything changes, this will be the next purchase once I retire my current Macbook. Leaving the Apple family; I’ll update accordingly.

--

--